SEND INQUIRY +91-98-73734364

Maharajas’ Express -The Heritage of India

Duration:08 days
Destination Cover : Mumbai-Ajanta-Udaipur-Jodhpur-Bikaner-Jaipur-Ranthambore-Fatehpur Sikri

Call for more details

Day 01 :Saturday: Mumbai

Self report in time in lobby of The Taj Mahal Palace and Tower for a traditional welcome to a regal journey on the Maharajas Express. After completing the registration and check-in formalities for Maharajas Express train, transfer to Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus. Welcome drinks are served on arrival and our representative will escort you to your respective cabins. The train is scheduled to depart at 16:40 hrs marking the beginning of the tour from the land of Marathas. Enjoy a sumptuous dinner and an overnight stay onboard the train.

Day 02 : Sunday: Ajanta

In the morning embark to visit the Ajanta caves. These spectacular rock-cut caves date back to 2ndcentury B.C and are one of the most wonderful creations of men. Situated at the distance of 104 Kms away from Aurangabad, the Ajanta caves houses an array of Jain, Buddhist and Hindu temples famous for exquisite carvings and frescoes. These caves depict scenes from life of Buddha are set in thebeautiful sylvan surroundings. Return to the train after the visit for the Maharajas’ hospitality and the train departs to Udaipur. Enjoy lunch and dinner onboard the train with a comfortable overnight stay.

Day 03 : Monday: Udaipur

In the morning after breakfast, embark on a sightseeing tour of Udaipur the lake city. Enjoy the royal lunch served at the Fateh Prakash Palace. After lunch embark on a sightseeing tour of Udaipur. The major tourist attractions of Udaipur include City Palace, Jagdish temple, Lake Pichola and the Saheliyon Ki Baari. Later in the day, move out to the local market of Udaipur to shop for exquisite jewellery, paintings and wooden crafts. Enjoy lunch served at the Durbar Hall and dinner aboard the luxury train.

Day 04 : Tuesday : Jodhpur

Afterenjoying a leisurely breakfast and a sumptuous lunch aboard the train, set off for a sightseeing tour of Jodhpur. The sightseeing tour will include a visit to the Old Clock Tower market and exploring the majestic Mehrangarh Fort. You may opt for an option tour to Rohet Garh village, home to Bishnoi tribe. Enjoy dinner and overnight stay onboard the super luxury train

Day 05 : Wednesday: Bikaner

On the 5th day of the tour continuing the journey through the desert Maharajas' Express train reaches Bikaner. Enjoy a lavish breakfast while observing the desert as the train enters the Bikaner region. On reaching Bikaner you may choose to embark on any one of the two tours- Visit the Lalgarh Palace Museum or an excursion to the Karni Mata Temple. Later in the day if time permits head to explore the Camel Breeding Farm. The other important attraction to visit in Bikaner is Junagarh Fort. In the evening enjoy a camel cart ride in Sam Sand dunes followed by cultural performances by the Kalbeliya and Langa artists. Enjoy dinner and overnight stay aboard the train.

Day 06 : Thursday: Jaipur

Postbreakfast, move out for a guided tour of Jaipur. The Jaipur sojourn will begin with an exciting Exhibition Elephant Polo match and a grand welcome at the Jai Mahal Palace hotel. Guests have both the options of either to watch or participate in the exhibition game. After a lavish lunch, proceed to visit Hawa Mahal and the majestic Amer Fort. In the evening take a leisurely walk to explore the local markets of Jaipur that is very popular among the tourist for its great handicraft items, bangals, and textile items. Overnight stay aboard the Maharajas Express.

Day 07 : Friday: Ranthambore – Fatehpur Sikri

On arrival at the Sawai Madhopur Railway Station, head to a safari tour, awaiting at the Ranthambore National Park. This park originally served as the hunting ground of Maharajas. Enjoying a jungle safari at this park allows for open sightings of tigers, sambar, chital, nilgai, chinkara, wild boar, sloth bear, hyena, jackal and leopard. Enjoy Lunch at the Taj Sawai Madhopur Lodge. After exploring the rich flora and fauna at the park return to the train to proceed towards the next destination on the itinerary, Fatehpur Sikri. On reaching Fatehpur Sikri, embark on a sightseeing tour of significant monuments that had been a part to the Mughal era. The major tourist attractions to visit include Buland Darwaza, Panch Mahal, Jama Masjid, Tomb of Salim Chishti and the Ibadat Khana. After the visit in the evening return to the train for dinner and overnight stay.

Day 08 : Saturday: Fatehpur Sikri – Agra – Delhi

In the morning Maharajas' Express train reaches Agra, home to epitome of love the Taj Mahal. This seventh wonder of the world is also recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It was commissioned by the great Mughal emperor Shah Jahan as a memorial of his beloved wife Mumtaz Mahal. Enjoy a lavish breakfast accompanied by champagne atop the Taj Khema. After the breakfast proceed to visit the Agra Fort. Enjoy the lunch on board as you continue the last lap of this wonderful journey to Delhi. Bid farewell to the Maharajas Express as the journey comes to an end at approximately 1530 hours on arrival into Safdarjung Station.

Price Guide

Find mentioned below, the tariff of Maharajas Express the Heritage of India tour to plan your journey. The applicable fare for the different cabin and suites for the sesion beginning September has been given below for your kind perusal along with the booking and cancellation policy to help you plan your journey.

Tariff for the season 2015-16 :

Cabin Adult (Twin Sharing) First Child (05 -12 yrs) Single Supplement
Deluxe Cabin USD 6840 USD 3420 USD 5160
Junior Suite USD 9890 USD 4950 USD 8910
Suite Double USD 13800 USD 6900 USD 13800
Presidential Suite USD 23700 USD 11900 USD 23700

The tariff of the Maharajas’ Express includes accommodation, meals, beverages (light drinks, tea, coffee, and mineral water), Indian wines (in house brands), butler service, and porter-age at stations, guided tours and entrance fees at monuments. The tariff however does not include taxes, insurances, alcoholic beverages, telephone calls, laundry, and fees of video and professional cameras.
*The above cost is a per person per Journey Cost.
*Validity October 2013 - April 2014-15
The above cost does not include 3.09% Govt. Service Tax and is charged extra.
*Prices are subject to change incase of any amendment in the routing or any other hikes such as fuel, taxes etc.
*Children below 5 years of age can travel for free.
Booking policy followed by the Maharajas Express is as follows:
o If booking is done prior to 90 days of departure or more, then 25% of the total tariff is to be paid at the time of booking
o If booking is done less than 59 days of departure or less, then full 100% of the total tariff is to be paid at the time of booking The cancellation policy that is followed by the train is as:
o If cancelled 90 days or more prior to departure date, then 25% of the published tour cost is deducted
o If cancelled 89-60 days prior to departure date, then 50% of the published tour cost is deducted
o If cancelled 59-0 days prior to departure date, then 100% of the published tour cost is deducted
o If you fail to show up on the departure date, then 100% of the published tour cost is deducted

Departure Dates

Mentioned below is the schedule of the Maharajas Express Heritage of India itinerary, a 168 hours journey through mesmerizing landscapes across some of the major tourist destinations in India.

Schedule for the season 2015-16 and 2016-17
Month Departure Dates
April, 2015 4
October, 2015 24
November, 2015 21
December, 2015 19
January, 2016 16
Fabruary, 2016 13
March, 2016 12
April, 2016 4

Contact - +91-09873734364 | 9910783637 | 011 – 65654849

Call for more details

Enquiry Form