SEND INQUIRY +91-98-73734364

Maharajas’ Express -The Indian Splendor

Duration:08 days
Destination Cover : Delhi-Agra-Sawai Madhopur -Bikaner-Jodhpur-Udaipur-Balasinor-Mumbai

Call for more details

Day 01 :Delhi

Arrive at the Safdurjung railway station and complete your registration formalities. Enjoy a traditional Indian style welcome with garland, Turban and Tikka. Settle into your cabins and explore the train. Enjoy your welcome drink. At 2200 hours, the train departs for Agra. Relish sumptuous dinner in the restaurant of Maharajas Express.

Day 02 : Agra

On the 2nd day of the tour, early morning arrival in Agra and a visit to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Taj Mahal, a white-marble mausoleum commissioned by Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan, which is now one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Relish breakfast and Champagne at Taj Khema, while enjoying a view of the Taj. Later, you have a list of activities to choose from- continue with sightseeing including Fatehpur Sikri and Itmad-ud-Daulah’s tomb or visit the markets to shop for souvenirs. After lunch, visit Agra Fort. Back to train. The rest of the day is at leisure. Relish your dinner on-board. Maharajas Express departs for Ranthambore National Park. Overnight in train.

Day 03 :Sawai Madhopur (Ranthambore National Park) - Jaipur

Enjoy an early morning game safari into Ranthambore National Park, an extremely popular wildlife reserve of the northern region of the country, which is the largest one as well. Return to the train. Relish a sumptuous brunch on-board the train. Depart for Jaipur. Once you reach Jaipur, indulge in shopping at the popular local bazaars and visit the major attractions. In the evening, attend an Exhibition Elephant Polo Match. Back to train for dinner and an overnight stay.

Day 04 : Bikaner

Early morning arrival in Bikaner, an erstwhile princely state of Rajasthan. Later, proceed for sightseeing. Now, you have activity options to choose from- visit Lalgarh Palace- built by Maharaja Ganga Singh between 1902 and 1926 as per Rajput, Mughal and European architectural styles or Deshnok Temple- also known as Karni Mata Temple or the cattle breeding farm. Later, enjoy a guided tour to the majestic Junagarh Fort, originally known as Chintamani. The fort complex was erected under Karan Chand’s supervision, the Prime Minister of Raja Rai Singh, Bikaner’s sixth ruler, whose construction began in 1589 and got completed in 1594. Post lunch, participate in a camel cart procession around the sand dunes. The evening is scheduled for a folk dance performance by Kalbeliyas and Langaas amidst Sam sand dunes. Relish cocktails and barbecue dinner. Overnight aboard the train and departure for the next destination.

Day 05 : Jodhpur

On day 5, post a sumptuous breakfast, proceed for a jeep safari to Rohet to visit Bishnoi villages for a great cultural experience. They are also popular as the world’s first environment conservationists. Observe their livelihood and other activities. Also enjoy sightings of Blackbuck Antelope. Relish lunch at Rohetgarh fort. After lunch, enjoy guided tours to Mehrangarh Fort- situated 400 m above the city, it is one of the largest forts of Rajasthan and Old Clock Tower market to shop for souvenirs. Dinner is at a special venue. After dinner, back to the train for an overnight stay.

Day 06 : Udaipur

On the 6th day of the tour, arrive in Udaipur, popular as the City of lakes. Post a hearty breakfast, leave for sightseeing including the City Palace – erected by the Maharana Udai Singh as the capital of the Sisodia Rajput clan, it is located on the eastern banks of Lake Pichola and the Crystal Gallery- founded by Maharana Sajjan Singhji, it houses some of the beautiful precious crystal items brought from all across the world. After lunch, you have an option to choose from- embark a guided walking tour to the old bazaars of Udaipur or visit the vintage car collection of the royal family. Return to the train for dinner and an overnight stay.

Day 07 : Balasinor

Today, you arrive in Balasinor, former princely state of Rajasthan that is home to India's own Jurassic Park. After you have breakfast, proceed for a sightseeing excursion to the Dinosaur Fossil Park. This Fossil Park contains fossilized bones, eggs etc. of around 13 different species of Dinosaurs. This is followed by a visit to the local village to observe the daily lifestyle of the people and observe their traditional activities. Enjoy a chit-chat with Balasinor’s royal family over a royal lunch. Later, back to the train for dinner and staying overnight.

Day 08 : Mumbai

On day 8 of the tour, you arrive in Mumbai where your luxurious journey aboard Maharajas Express comes to an end. After breakfast, disembark from the train and complete the farewell formalities.

Price Guide

Details of tariffs of the Indian Splendor itinerary of Maharajas Express luxury train travel in India are mentioned below for your discernment. Maharajas Express cost, details of inclusions, exclusions booking policy and rules of cancellation are also mentioned for your perusal.

Tariff for the season 2015-16 :

Cabin Adult (Twin Sharing) First Child (05 -12 yrs) Single Supplement
Deluxe Cabin USD 5980 USD 2990 USD 4510
Junior Suite USD 9460 USD 4730 USD 8520
Suite USD 13800 USD 6900 USD 13800
Presidential Suite USD 23700 USD 11900 USD 23700

The tariff of the Maharajas’ Express includes accommodation, meals, beverages (light drinks, tea, coffee, and mineral water), Indian wines (in house brands), butler service, and porter-age at stations, guided tours and entrance fees at monuments. The tariff however does not include taxes, insurances, alcoholic beverages, telephone calls, laundry, and fees of video and professional cameras.
*The above cost is a per person per Journey Cost.
*Validity October 2013 - April 2015
The above cost does not include 3.09% Govt. Service Tax and is charged extra.
*Prices are subject to change incase of any amendment in the routing or any other hikes such as fuel, taxes etc.
*Children below 5 years of age can travel for free.
Booking policy followed by the Maharajas Express is as follows:
o If booking is done prior to 90 days of departure or more, then 25% of the total tariff is to be paid at the time of booking
o If booking is done less than 59 days of departure or less, then full 100% of the total tariff is to be paid at the time of booking The cancellation policy that is followed by the train is as:
o If cancelled 90 days or more prior to departure date, then 25% of the published tour cost is deducted
o If cancelled 89-60 days prior to departure date, then 50% of the published tour cost is deducted
o If cancelled 59-0 days prior to departure date, then 100% of the published tour cost is deducted
o If you fail to show up on the departure date, then 100% of the published tour cost is deducted

Departure Dates

Mentioned below is the schedule of the Indian Splendor itinerary on board Maharajas Express, an 8 days itinerary covering some of the most splendid destinations and attractions in India. Discover the splendor of India in sheer opulence. Plan your journey according to the scheduled departure of the luxury train for the sesion beginning October 2015.

Schedule for the season 2015-16 and 2016-17
Month Departure Dates
March, 2015 28
October, 2015 17
November, 2015 14
December, 2015 12
January, 2016 9
Fabruary, 2016 6
March, 2016 5
April, 2016 2

Contact - +91-09873734364 | 9910783637 | 011 – 65654849

Call for more details

Enquiry Form